Milk Tea Review: Gong Cha Earl Grey Milk Tea

As promised, my second milk tea review.
My brother and I are fans of milk tea and almost every time we’re together, we buy ourselves a cup. This time, we tried Gong Cha.
Gong Cha is one of the famous milk tea brands that we have here in the Philippines. It originated year 2006 in Taiwan. So far, Gong Cha has seven branches all over the metro. They offer a wide range of tea selections – House Special Series, Milk Tea Series, Brewed Tea Series, Ice Cream Special Series, Creative Mix Series, Coffee Special Series and Pearl Ice Series.
Since it’s our first time to try this line, we opted to order their best seller which is Earl Grey Milk Tea.
I almost forgot to take pictures of the milk tea. So there – 1/8 full cup. Haha.

Earl Grey Milk Tea Large, with Pearls, 100% sweetness
Before milk teas were born, I’m already a fan of teas. I was able to taste different flavors of teas – Earl Grey, of course, English Breakfast, Jasmine, Peppermint, Chamomile, Blueberry, Sweet Peppermint, Lemon Ginger, and a lot more. Earl Grey has a distinct strong taste that I love.
The first sip made my scream like crazy. I could not think of any other word that could describe the taste aside from the word “authentic”. It was real! It was a real Earl Grey Tea with milk! The tea was not too strong and the milk wasn’t overpowering. 100% sweetness is perfect for those who love sweets. I find 100% too sweet. Maybe I’ll try 75% next time. Nevertheless, the sweetness did not affect my overall verdict for this milk tea. My next sip contains the add-ons — pearls. The tapioca was cooked perfectly and it is very chewy — the chewiest pearl so far. As with the price, it’s quite pricey. 85 Php for the milk tea plus 15 Php for the pearl for a total of 100 Php. Verdict: I’ll give this one an 8 out of 10. I would definitely go back to Gong Cha to taste their other products. Next on the list: Gong Cha House Special Milk Earl Grey Tea. Tee hee.
Oh well. That’s all! ‘Till next time guys!

One thought on “Milk Tea Review: Gong Cha Earl Grey Milk Tea

Leave a Reply

